ISS Score for Truck Drivers Explained and How to Find it

An Inspection Selection System Score also called “ISS Score” was created by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) to help law enforcement officers determine if the truck should be inspected. The inspection selection system score is frequently used to determine if your truck will receive a bypass command or not.

There is often confusion between the ISS score and the CSA score. While there is a correlation between the two, they are not the same thing. The CSA score identifies high-risk motor carriers. The score is based on the performance data of the driver.

The ISS score uses a combination of different CSA categories known as the Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement Category (BASICs) to determine the carrier’s overall inspection rating from zero to 100. Similar to the CSA score, the lower the better.

What Determines Your ISS Inspection Value?

Unsafe Driving
Hours of Service (HOS)
Driver Fitness
Controlled Substances and Alcohol
Vehicle Maintenance and Cargo
Hazardous Material

There are three different ISS ratings categories: inspect, optional, or pass.

Inspect: 75-100
Optional: 50-74
Pass: 1-49

ISS scores can determine how often you will get inspected. Although some roadside inspections are at random times, most will be as a result of a higher ISS score.

How to Find ISS Score

The FMCSA has an online portal where carriers can login to check their ISS scores. You will login using your DOT-issued PIN. From there you will see the “Company Information” section on the main screen. Next, click the blue button labeled “Inspection Selection System (ISS) Info.”

Share this post

About the Author

Maranda Heaverin

Maranda Heaverin

Let Us Help You

Members of our knowledgeable, friendly staff are standing by to offer assistance and answer your questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.